Graveyard

Silence. A silence so great, its greatness is only equaled by the sheer weight of the dead upon you. A house of the dead, only for the dead, and only the dead might reside in.

I feel like an intruder, an outsider, a conspirator caught in the midst of his treachery. A traitor, not to the living, but to the dead whose tranquility I intrude upon. Walking further in I cannot help but feel that I do not yet belong here, but I do feel my place amongst them. They will wait for that day, when I walk with them like one of their own, and my footsteps shall no longer disturb the great silence. The silence.

Only the wind blows around me. It blows with such force as to defy the gravity of those who reside therein, a futile defiance, one that the residents care not for. They look upon the stranger walking in their house, for they know he’s  only a guest for a time, and he shall leave once his heart’s desire is met.

What a folly we are? We are guests of this world and guests of the dead in their eternal home. A guest we shall always be, for it is our nature to be here for a set period of time, and it is in our nature that we die.

But once we do die, nature for us holds no meaning. We will finally cease being guests. We cease our endless follies in this world. Do not fear death; instead fear what will happen after death. Not to you, but to the ones who you leave behind, the ones who will be your guests in your eternal home.

I have fulfilled my heart’s desire in this place. The dead now call me to leave. The living are not welcomed there, for the dead know the blessings of Time, and would propel me from their silence to intrude upon the world once more. Like travelling journeymen, we tag along here and there, never stopping, yet always wondering.

The silence is heavy upon me now. My time has come and now I must leave. I cast one final glance around this graveyard, empty yet full, old yet new, mindless yet eternal.

From our birth, we have nothing unique to us. At birth our mother shares the joyful tears of our new life. We live our lives for others, every single moment is devoted to another, but death is not like that. Death does not seek the love of your friends or family, it does not seek even your love. It might be our most selfless moment in life. The End of it all.

If you understand the point of this post, well and good. If you don’t, then I hope one day you will get it.

One day our souls shall leave out bodies, one day our hearts shall stop their furtive beats, one day our malevolent mind shall stop its motionless wanderings. One day we shall be free. Wait for that day then, but do not forget the time in between. Use that time. For love and family and friends. That is what the dead teach us. That is what we should do.

 

The dead do not need the living, but the living need the dead.

7 Responses to “Graveyard”

  1. BRILLIANT!
    ‘A traitor, not to the living, but to the dead whose tranquility I intrude upon. Walking further in I cannot help but feel that I do not yet belong here, but I do feel my place amongst them.’
    I can’t even begin to imagine how you go the idea; it left me speechless.
    Fourth paragraph, somewhat, reminded me of what Rumi says in his “Guest House’ Well done with the allusion 🙂

    The conclusion made me tear-up; at the same time. I wish you had continued writing.
    ‘The dead do not need the living, but the living need the dead.’
    It can’t be ameliorated. Definitely, one of my favorite blog by you 🙂

    • Thank you. Your comments are the ones I most look forward to.
      I haven’t read/seen Guest House yet. But I will now.

      I can continue to write this forever. But everything needs to end. There will be a graveyard re-post, I’m sure of it. But it’s time shall come later.

      Thank you so much.

  2. BRILLIANT post!! and i totally agree to what you wrote up there.

  3. Wasn’t surprised to read such a post from you.
    Standard beliefs about profound things in life can turn upside down if you just change perspective. Hope people learn that from your post.

Leave a Reply

