Time and Tears

My fifth poem.

Before you read on, you must know the origins of this poem, or you won’t understand what’s going on.

I had a nightmare one night. It started off with a child’s scream which slowly faded away to pitch black darkness. A voice kept chanting “. . . . .tear drops down the well. . . . . .tear drops down the well. . . . . Your time is near. . . . . .tear drops down the well. . . .”

It carried on throughout the night, after which I woke up in a cold sweat and couldn’t get the chants out of my head. I had the urge to turn it nto a poem.

Hope you enjoy it

* * * * * * * * * * *

In the land beyond my own,

There lies a sunken ground,

There lies the forbidden pool,

The pool of lasting darkness,

 

The shadows lurk by,

Slowly and surely,

A ritual unlike ever seen,

A ritual of peace and death,

 

A tear drops down the well,

So far it goes,

When does it drop?

Nobody knows,

 

Out of the pool,

A dark figure arose,

He turned to me and cried,

“Thy time is near! Divide!”

 

In the land beyond my own,

Stood a figure just like my own,

We stood unified,

Together but not yet whole,

 

The Tear finally splashes down,

The Well overflowed with seamless joy,

The Heavens split with hateful sorrow,

Hellfire suffocated with happiness untold,

 

The Earth shook with its whole might,

The Seas dried up in despair,

The Mountains collapsed in fear,

The Desert blew away in disgrace,

 

The Dark figure smiled,

His work was finally done,

He turned to me and said,

“Our Time has come”

 

We walked together-unified and whole,

Our Time has come,

Like the legends of old,

To be buried and be reknowned no more. . . .

Ajwad Wasim Malik
6 Responses to “Time and Tears”

  1. The Dark Hour. Eerie.

    Brilliant, Ajwad!

  2. Three words:Oh My God.It should be in the dictionary next to the definition of epic.it was brilliant and beautiful,even if I couldn’t comprehend all of it:p

  3. Maaz Tanveer Says:

    Immaculate. It made me visualize your dream. I hope It never comes again though. =)

  4. Oh EM Gee! ..

    PS. U write quite nice 🙂

  5. Splendid!
    Ajwad, just like a tree grows from a single seed; you manage to draw a whole story from a single phrase. I am totally impressed. very impressed, rather.

    ‘We walked together-unified and whole,
    Our Time has come,
    Like the legends of old,
    To be buried and be reknowned no more. . . .’

    ^ amazing!
    Reminded me of the other 4 you’ve written. It’s more like a story told in each, a new chapter.

    • Thank you. The fact i can impress you, is a compliment in itself.

      Heh. One day, I’m going to ask you to relate that story to me, chapter by chapter.

Leave a Reply

